Skip to content

deadheading roses

April 17, 2013

I haven’t posted much lately because I like to tell stories about my garden when I post–such as, I planted this sprout, it grew and bloomed, and now it’s dead, The End.  Well, I don’t really have a new story yet, although there are many new things happening in the backyard, and I’ve got works in progress.  Since I don’t want to leave the blog untouched for so long, I decided I need to post something about the garden.  So here goes.

Recently, I took some nice photos of the roses I was deadheading.  These were the first blooms of spring and there were A LOT of them.  These were cut from 15 rose bushes.

Image

The thing is, you can’t tell from the photo, but these roses aren’t fit to go in a vase.  The edges are brown on many, and the petals will drop off like lead weights in a day or two.  I wouldn’t give them to anyone I liked.  However, in the picture, they look like a million bucks.

Image

I know I’ve said that roses are pretty much weeds, but I must admit, they do have their moments.

Image

Image

7 Comments
  1. Very artistic! Best looking weeds I’ve seen in a while.

  2. Very artistic! Best looking weeds I’ve seen in a while.

  3. beautiful photos.

  4. Wow, it’s the first time I see so many different shades in one :O And your photos itself are as much beautiful as the roses 🙂

  5. Much prettier than when I dead head daylilies. They are no where near as photogenic at that point ! Thanks !

Leave a comment

The Death-Proof Garden

You're a killer and you know it. Change your destiny!

Arthur in the Garden!

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

The Cynical Gardener

The most Dangerous plant to sleep under is the water lilly

Garden Booyah

Gardening in Northeastern Wisconsin

MANILA FARM BOY

manilafarmboy.wordpress.com

the squirrel nutwork

connecting to nature in suburban DC

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a plantsman

Eye on Nature

Views of nature from the New Jersey Highlands

Sarah's Garden Stuff

Triumphs and travails on a farm and in a garden

bohemianromance

Steampunk: Nostalgia for a Time that Never Was...

Growing--A Gardener's Journal

Just another WordPress.com site

The Three Sixty Five Project

365 Pictures in 365 Days